Issue #40: Memories that last...

Memories are better than Money

One of many hikes…pure bliss

I want you to live your life and create memories! The struggles we all have around money and relationships will heal over time. Your ability to create memories with your loved ones, only diminish over time, as we all grow older.

A Trip to Hawaii…

As some of you know, the family and I try to get to Hawaii as soon as school let’s out. Hawaii is home away from home for us, it truly is a special place and the Aloha spirit runs through us. Not to mention it does wonders for my skin and hair…just saying.

I want to take you along on this trip with some added commentary on what it means to life.

Airlines

Let’s first chat about the travel…

It is best to book your flights on Tuesday’s or Saturday’s between 90-130 days prior to your Hawaiian trip. I have an entire excel sheet tracking, flights across all airlines, being in DSM, American ends up being the most direct and cheapest. Otherwise, many hubs like Denver, Seattle, LA, Phx all have direct flights.

YOU MUST GET TSA PRECHECK…makes your life so much easier. It costs about $70 per person for a 5 year plan, kids are under you until 16.

In the pic below…Poor Lincoln got my luck when it comes to the TSA “Random” checks, this happened twice this trip to him. Worst part is my father heads up the TSA in Omaha, so you would think we were on the “good” list.

DSM Airport

We did have a 6.5 hour layover on the way back, so luckily we are AMEX platinum members and were able to enjoy the Centurion Lounge…look at this setup!

PHX Centurion Lounge

What the hell do you do there for 2 weeks?!

For us, we are pretty laid back, aka “Aloha Time”. The locals are all chill and move at their own speed, in turn be like them please!? That being said, after we arrive, we go to Costco (gotta grab groceries for this home chef) and then off to the VRBO. It seems as if every year, once we leave Costco (usually around 4pm Hawaiian time), Croix decides it’s time for him to go sleep and he doesn’t wake up until the next morning around 3am Hawaiian time.

Day 1: Is always a beach day! I mean who wouldn’t love beach day?!

Magic Beach - Big Island

Last year we missed out on a submarine trip due to poor weather, this year we got to embark on that adventure! I know the timing of that is weird with the Titan Sub being lost at sea, knowing the sub we were on it has to be terrifying for those 5 on board.

Atlantis Submarine Adventures

This year we focused on many more hiking adventures and let me tell you what we had some great ones! From a rain forest that rained is out of the trail to the Grand Canyon of Hawaii on the Napoli Coast….simply put if you love hiking get to the Islands Immediately.

National Parks are on the list for Lincoln to complete in his lifetime and the Big Island has one that you cannot pass up. Volcano National Park did not disappoint. I have two pictures here for you, the first is of us an old crater lake (lake of lava that is dried up), the second one is the overlook to the active crater (this erupted 3 days later, small eruption that stayed in the crater).

Volcano National Park - Old Crater

Volcano National Park - Active Crater/Steam Vents

FOOD!

You thought I would leave out food, of course not! That being said we did miss a lot of our food excursions…because I ate too fast and forgot to take pics, SORRY!

You will learn that not only is the fruit and fish fresh as can be, the prices are much lower than the main land. That being said Milk/cheese/gas, etc cost more. So when going out there put that in your mind, OH and also hit up as many Farmer’s markets as possible! There you will find that you are supporting local farmers and the prices are exponentially lower than any of the stores.

Below - Brown’s Beach House By far the best restaurant on the island! This is their fresh caught Ono, with king crab topper. The amount of crab was insane! This is always our “fancy dinner” boys love it, Live music, ocean only 10 yds away!

Brown’s Beach House - Big Island

I could post about 1000 pics but I wanted to highlight two of our favorite places.

The next one up is Kauai Bakery umm can you say amazing…look at this Ube malasada. This is a stuffed giant donut hole, if you will. Ube is a purple sweet potato, btw is simple amazing! If you are in Kauai, you have to hit up this place, 10min away from the airport!

Kauai Bakery - Lihue, Kauai

Memories, Memories, Memories

You may follow me outside of this newsletter, you may not. You may see a super successful man, living a life of glory in Hawaii. You may see all of this and you need to understand where I came from. I didn’t come from money, I didn’t come from knowledge of vacations, I did come from being able to travel and respect other people’s culture (thanks grandpa!!).

I say that to say this, we all have money struggles, from Financial Planners (like myself) to millionaires (I won’t say billionaires because well F them). The memories we create matter more than any $$ you make, I promise you that. I also promise that you being able to get your mind right, then you will be able to make more memories…because at the end of the day before you die, you don’t run through your money….you run through the memories.

My Boy’s Say “Peace Easy”

Next Week’s Issue

It’s summa summa time, which means Secure Act 2.0?? Yeah, I promised you more details on 2.0 throughout the summer. Next week we will start to dig into this new Act.

Also, stay tuned, I have some clarity coming in regards to myself, my practice and the future…

Hottest Tweet of the Week….

This simple question got over 43k impressions and 324 engagements! Check out the conversation, let me know your thoughts.

#NoBSWealth Can’t Miss Episode

Cannot wait until next week or just want more, check out our podcast @nobswealth and catch us on Youtube. You can always follow me on Instagram and Twitter as well! Or just email me, [email protected].

Most importantly come check out our Website and give us some feedback. Make sure to subscribe to this newsletter and if you are wanting time to chat with me 1on1 you can schedule that here!

Reply

or to participate.