Issue #20: Life's A Game

Everything in Life is a Game. Will you Win? Or Will

Life is a Game, how will you play?

Holy shit what a week it has been since you last heard from me. We went from Oldest recovering from Strep, to me being stuck in my bed for 36 hours with 102.3 temp from Flu A, to youngest getting Strep on Sunday and on Tues Night Wife test's positive for Covid!

So we are knee deep in cleaning but feel like what else can 2023 throw at us from a health perspective. IF you know of anything else out there let us know apparently we are magnets this year!

The content I bring to you is to challenge you from all different angles, you will not get the same information week to week, I will occasionally have different series to go on but for the most part it will seem sporadic and random but ultimately it is centered around challenging your #moneymindset and your overall mentality. Today's issue is no different, this will cause some of you to get defensive, I want it to open your eyes and allow you to understand truly how to get through everyday life. I pray it doesn't add more anxiety, yet releases you from some, it did for me.

Life is a game. And then there are games within the game. How are you Playing? - Jocko Willink

Over this past week I have been listening to Jocko's Podcast Episodes 369 and Episode 370, where they focus on challenging you to understand that LIFE IS A GAME. And not in the negative meaning of that word, but in all actuality everything we do in life is a game. Think about that for a moment, your job, your relationships, your belief systems, your own mindset, your sport, what you eat, what you drink....it's all a game that you need to know how to play to win.

Understanding the Game

Before anyone can succeed they must first know they are in a game and two know what the rules, purpose etc, are in this game. Too often our pride takes over and dictates to us that people don't play games or you won't deviate from your being to "play" the game. Sorry to tell you that hinders your ability to understand the game you are in and in turn you will lose. For example, as a football player I knew the rules pretty damn well so I knew what it took to win the game. If you put me chess match or hell as an accountant, I don't know those rules, I will lose and will lose bad in those games. Until I get an understanding of the game I can not succeed. Yes, I said accounting, again everything is a game, your relationships (ALL OF THEM) are a game, knowing the rules/desired outcome is how you "win" that game. Does winning the game mean dominating the relationship, NO NOT EVEN CLOSE, it means being able to have a positive relationship to work towards a common goal.

Take our children for example, that game is a battle every second of the day, it feels like, because they don't know the entirety of the rules that we are trying to teach them. The common goal, whether the know it or not, is to get them to be badass adults who can change the world around them. We battle everyday in this game, from emotions to educate to just eat your damn FOOD! see a game I know I am not winning most days.

Play the game to Win or Don't Play the game AT ALL

Once you understand the rules and know you are in a game, it is up to you to decide if you are to play to win or just not play at all.

Playing to win entails, training/practice, in-depth knowledge of the battle space that is in-front of you. Ultimately it takes energy and organization to make sure that game is being won. If this is your relationship take time to understand what is going on, what the purpose is, how to operate and move forward for the common good.

If this is your business, it is time to play the game, even if that means doing more social posts or more cold calling or more being overtly loud about yourself and your business, then DO IT. (PS that is what I have done this year, get out of my shell and get out there if not my business will fail) Need to learn a new spin move, so you can avoid that next major obstacle, well pick up a book, call a mentor/colleague, LEARN THAT MOVE.

New Health/Fitness Goal, well that is a game too. It's all a game, are you going to better yourself to become a GOAT or are you just going to say that game isn't for me and stay in your lane. Do you know that you are even in a game? You should now, everything is a game, start changing your mindset to realize this and it will help reduce this feeling that it's all on you or that you don't understand because that can be true. Find out what the ultimate end result is, work backwards so you can start winning the game!

#NoBSWealth Clip of The Week

Cannot wait until next week or just want more, check out our podcast @nobswealth and catch us on Youtube. You can always follow me on Instagram and Twitter as well! Or just email me, [email protected].

Most importantly come check out our Website and give us some feedback. Make sure to subscribe to this newsletter and if you are wanting time to chat with me 1on1 you can schedule that here or if you are wanting 2 hours a month with me, join our Beachside Chat Community, every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 6pm CST!

#Goonsquad Clip of The Week

If you are a sports nerd like me and want a pod to listen to or watch come check out our @nobsgoonsquad (podcast), here is the link to the show, we go live every Tuesday at 4:30pm CST!

Reply

or to participate.