Issue #16: Damar Hamlin Effect

The Power of Community

Issue #16: Damar Hamlin Effect

Damar Hamlin Buffalo Bills

Heavy hearts this week...

Many of you know that I am a former Collegiate Footballer, Drake University (Go BullDogs!) and that I co-host NoBS GoonSquad Sports Show/Podcast with Cole Ingle (Former Drake QB), if you don't know, now you know.

And what we all saw (millions and millions of us), was a man get hit in the chest, playing the game he loves, and dying right in front of our eyes. Only to be brought back to life and is now in critical condition at the hospital. This ladies and gents is TRAUMA for all of us. However way you want to spin it, it is trauma that we all went through #together. Yes, not physical trauma like Damar or even as emotional as his family, friends and brothers (teammates) but nonetheless trauma.

Not focusing this issue on the depressed part of this situation but wanted to get you aware and bring us all #together emotionally as we highlight the power of #community.

To lead into this #community, take notice of Damar's gofundme account below: He started this account in 2020, to raise funds for christmas presents that year. Someone found it and it has gone from under $2.5k to over $6.5m, all to support his foundation. Now that is power of #communityI won't tell you what to do but I will say that I have donated because this young man has a vision to take care of others and that is what pumps through my veins daily!

Power of #Community

I am not sure if you have gone through a traumatic event before (loss of a loved one, serious injury, etc.) but I am here to tell you it sucks. It sucks a LOT. My experience has been something else, from a ruptured Achilles that ended my collegiate career to losing my mother 1 year and 3 months ago. January 5th is her birthday and as I write this issue, that means her bday is in less than 12 hours. So yes, I know trauma and I know emotions for myself run high this time of the year...add in Damar Hamlin and it's tough.

But what get's me through it, what get's you through it, what get's us all through is EACH OTHER! #Community As a whole humans do amazing things for each other when we collectively deal with Trauma. I would love to say when one human is down as a race we stand up but that's not as common as when something happens to the masses then as a community we up lift each other. That is what is happening now with the Damar Hamlin injury. That part is what is so great about the human race.

I want you to do an exercise for me, think back to your last traumatic even or if you don't have one visualize being Damar's mother. Now that you have that image/feelings brought back, walk yourself through whom helped you through it? Did you go it alone or as you reflect did someone or a group of people help you through it?

I'd bet there were people in your life that helped you through it...reach out to them and thank them for that! Then be ready to help others, that is all I ask this week, be there for others and help when that time comes to you.

Interested in how we can help you grow your #wealth? Schedule a free meeting with me, to get started.

Cannot wait until next week or just want more, check out our podcast @nobswealth and catch us on Youtube. You can always follow me on Instagram and Twitter as well! Or just email me, [email protected].

Most importantly come check out our Website and give us some feedback. Make sure to subscribe to this newsletter and if you are wanting time to chat with me 1on1 you can schedule that here.

If you are a sports nerd like me and want a pod to listen to or watch come check out our @nobsgoonsquad (podcast), here is the link to the show, we go live every Tuesday at 4:30pm CST!

Reply

or to participate.